top of page

George and Namiki's neighbourhood...




Both George and Namiki were working today so we did our grandparently duty (didn't need much persuading). We read books, sang songs, played with cardboard boxes etc., and then walked to George's school through this lovely neighbourhood. The yellow sign says something like 'This is a children's area, please take care'.


Japan's neighbourhoods are mixed in the best possible way - posh houses beside apartment blocks next to a row of middle income houses etc. I've never seen 'estates' of poor housing - definitely seen some poor housing but perhaps a row of maybe four or five really down-at-heel small dwellings next to a smart old-fashioned wooden house or a row of smart new houses. Very few houses have gardens, those belong mostly to the older wooden houses. Lots of Government is local, lots of community centres and locally run services, voted for locally and supportive of the local population. George runs quite a few workshops in various community centres.


The apartment block above is where George and Namiki live, on the 9th floor.


Tomorrow we get to collect Isaac from nursery school - great honour!

About this site...
 
I am an art teacher living and working in Dorset.  I have taught for the Adult Education Service and the University of Bath, plus some supply teaching in my local schools but now I run all my classes and courses privately. This site is intended as an addition to my teaching, primarily for any student who in the week misses a class and wants to catch up.
 
The lessons are also available for any one anywhere who would like some ideas on what to teach, what to learn or is just interested in seeing what we do.
 
I'm afraid I won't be able to answer emails asking for comments on anyone's work (other than for currently enrolled students).
 
I teach three weekly art classes in halls in and around Blandford in Dorset and every six weeks or so I run a Sunday workshop in a village hall on the outskirts of Blandford. I also run a vibrant five-day summer school.. Other than that I spend every available moment in my studio or drawing and painting elsewhere.
 
I studied for four years at The Slade School of Fine Art where I was awarded The Slade Prize on graduation. I went on to travel and study further finally doing a P.G.C.E at Exeter University with Ted Wragg as my mentor. It was a wonderful year of education which set me in good stead for my years of teaching since then.

 RECENT POSTS: 

 SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.
bottom of page