top of page

LESSON PLANS WINTER 2022 (1st half). Still-life 'Siblings'




In this first lesson of the new term I'm asking my students to bring a small still life which interprets (to them) the title 'Siblings' (doesn't have to be their own siblings, it could be famous sets of siblings such as Romulus and Remus, the Brontes, the Brothers Grimm or even The Cheeky Girls!!). My students' decision is how to interpret the subject with a still life. I have chosen three coffee mugs from our cupboard to represent my own three children, the idea is to make a detailed pencil drawing in the first lesson and follow it with a colour pencil (and the possible addition of a watercolour wash) in the second lesson.


Winter term, 1st half 2022. Lesson 1. Still-life ‘Siblings’

Pencils, eraser and a still-life expressing the title ‘Siblings’


· I've chosen a very simple still-life, representing my own three children. I suggested at the end of last term to bring two objects…I’ve broken my own rules and used three objects!

· Set your items up in front of you. You can place them on a piece of white paper or directly onto the table.

· Very loosely and lightly let your pencil roam around your page ‘finding’ your still-life objects.

· Look very closely at in-between spaces.

· Look very closely at the different levels of each object – is the base of one object much lower/higher than the base of any other object? This indicates how far from the artist each object is – the further away, the higher the base of the object appears in your drawing. This helps to create depth in your drawing.

· Look closely at ellipses – the further below eye level the ellipse, the rounder it will be (this you know!!).

· As you create light lines with your loose drawing, begin to press a bit harder as you glean a clearer understanding of where each line will eventually be. Gradually add in tone.

· Check each and every line you’ve drawn to work out which is the darker side – on which side will you place the darker tone?

· Where do you find soft transitions from one tone to another?


Next week: A drawing from the same subject in colour pencil or pastel pencil. Bring good cartridge paper or sketch book and colour pencils or pastel pencils. You might add a watercolour wash so bring just a few watercolours and a brush.

About this site...
 
I am an art teacher living and working in Dorset.  I have taught for the Adult Education Service and the University of Bath, plus some supply teaching in my local schools but now I run all my classes and courses privately. This site is intended as an addition to my teaching, primarily for any student who in the week misses a class and wants to catch up.
 
The lessons are also available for any one anywhere who would like some ideas on what to teach, what to learn or is just interested in seeing what we do.
 
I'm afraid I won't be able to answer emails asking for comments on anyone's work (other than for currently enrolled students).
 
I teach three weekly art classes in halls in and around Blandford in Dorset and every six weeks or so I run a Sunday workshop in a village hall on the outskirts of Blandford. I also run a vibrant five-day summer school.. Other than that I spend every available moment in my studio or drawing and painting elsewhere.
 
I studied for four years at The Slade School of Fine Art where I was awarded The Slade Prize on graduation. I went on to travel and study further finally doing a P.G.C.E at Exeter University with Ted Wragg as my mentor. It was a wonderful year of education which set me in good stead for my years of teaching since then.

 RECENT POSTS: 

 SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.
bottom of page