top of page

LESSON PLANS WINTER TERM 2022 (2nd half) Lesson 3. Pointillism and pastels!




In this lesson I'm asking my students to think about the mingling of colours with dots and dashes in a technique known as pointillism. I'd like them to work from a bowl of fruit and to create the lusciousness of colour and tone through pointillism. Above are some examples of exactly that.


Winter term, 2nd half 2022. Lesson 3. Pointillism! Using soft pastels OR oil pastels you’re going to construct a dotty picture. Fruit will be your main subject, either from a still-life in front of you or from a good picture of a fruity still-life. You can add cloth, bowl etc., your choice.


· Have a quick look at some pictures on my laptop. See how the dots of colour mingle and build up to create solid looking forms.

· Set your still-life up in front of you (or have the picture you’re working from at easy access).

· You can work on coloured pastel paper or white paper. Coloured paper is a good option because it gives you access to making light dots as well as dark dots.

· You can dive in with the dotting immediately OR using your pastels on the side you can very lightly block your main shapes. Alternatively, you can very lightly draw some indicative lines if that helps.

· Think about the fruits you’re looking at. If you’re looking at an orange it wold be perfectly feasible to use the following colours: Orange, yellow, yellow ochre, green, blue, white and brown!

· Look for the different tones across a piece of fruit and begin to build up, with dots and dashes, the colours and tones you’re seeing.

· Look at the areas between the fruits and ask yourself how, along the edges of your fruit, they relate to their background? Are they darker or lighter than their background (it’ll never be what you expect).

· This is a very negotiable process, you can put light on dark and dark on light dots. Build up all areas across your page.


Next lesson: Using soft pastels for a softer, smudgier still-life. Bring fruit (or fruity image) and we’ll use the pastels in a very different way. Coloured paper is really good but white paper is fine too if you prefer. Bring a soft paintbrush for smudging.

About this site...
 
I am an art teacher living and working in Dorset.  I have taught for the Adult Education Service and the University of Bath, plus some supply teaching in my local schools but now I run all my classes and courses privately. This site is intended as an addition to my teaching, primarily for any student who in the week misses a class and wants to catch up.
 
The lessons are also available for any one anywhere who would like some ideas on what to teach, what to learn or is just interested in seeing what we do.
 
I'm afraid I won't be able to answer emails asking for comments on anyone's work (other than for currently enrolled students).
 
I teach three weekly art classes in halls in and around Blandford in Dorset and every six weeks or so I run a Sunday workshop in a village hall on the outskirts of Blandford. I also run a vibrant five-day summer school.. Other than that I spend every available moment in my studio or drawing and painting elsewhere.
 
I studied for four years at The Slade School of Fine Art where I was awarded The Slade Prize on graduation. I went on to travel and study further finally doing a P.G.C.E at Exeter University with Ted Wragg as my mentor. It was a wonderful year of education which set me in good stead for my years of teaching since then.

 RECENT POSTS: 

 SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.
bottom of page