top of page

Workshop, Sunday 25th September. Chettle Village Hall.




Looking at the 'quiver' of life in Cezanne's apples. I'm asking my students to set up a still life very similar to the painting above - apples on a plain white cloth, setting some apples slightly higher than the others. We then have the whole day to think about the way Cezanne worked and find our own way of creating what I sensed when I first saw a Cezanne Apple painting...that they positively quiver with life! This is how the day will go, more or less:


Bring plenty of apples, a plain while cloth, possibly a small box to raise some of your apples and the medium you wish to paint with.


Set your apples in front of you on a plain white cloth or pillowcase, Cezanne set some a little higher so find a small box or something that can go under your cloth to raise some of your apples.


Once you’ve had a good look at this image, make a mental note of the following:


1. The different colours and tones across the face of each apple.

2. The way Cezanne marks out the apple with a dark painted line but then re-negotiates the line so that you see hints of original lines as well as the final chosen line.

3. The amount of pure white paint he uses to depict the cloth (just about NONE!)

4. The colours he uses to depict the white cloth.

5. The Fact that he allows his brush strokes to remain loose and ambiguous, not precise! This is what breathes the quiver of life into his still-life apples.


You’re going to make a charcoal study on paper before you begin your painting. This gives you the chance to see your subject in the language of light and dark (and every tone in-between). I’ll have plenty of charcoal with me for you to use. This will be your working drawing in which you’ll practice the ambiguous line technique mentioned above. You can begin your painting (oils, acrylics, watercolour-mixed media, your choice) with charcoal also – directly onto the canvas/board/paper etc. Or you can start directly with paint but…not with pencil!


Bring a packed lunch. Tea and coffee available in the kitchen all day.


About this site...
 
I am an art teacher living and working in Dorset.  I have taught for the Adult Education Service and the University of Bath, plus some supply teaching in my local schools but now I run all my classes and courses privately. This site is intended as an addition to my teaching, primarily for any student who in the week misses a class and wants to catch up.
 
The lessons are also available for any one anywhere who would like some ideas on what to teach, what to learn or is just interested in seeing what we do.
 
I'm afraid I won't be able to answer emails asking for comments on anyone's work (other than for currently enrolled students).
 
I teach three weekly art classes in halls in and around Blandford in Dorset and every six weeks or so I run a Sunday workshop in a village hall on the outskirts of Blandford. I also run a vibrant five-day summer school.. Other than that I spend every available moment in my studio or drawing and painting elsewhere.
 
I studied for four years at The Slade School of Fine Art where I was awarded The Slade Prize on graduation. I went on to travel and study further finally doing a P.G.C.E at Exeter University with Ted Wragg as my mentor. It was a wonderful year of education which set me in good stead for my years of teaching since then.

 RECENT POSTS: 

 SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.
bottom of page